Sunday, 20 November 2016

Tribes of Uttar Pradesh and Uttarakhand


Formerly Uttaranchal. In accordance with The Constitution (Scheduled Tribes) (Uttar Pradesh) Order, 1967 and as inserted by Act 29 of 2000.
  1. Bhotiya-  Uttarakhand Bhotiya are an ethno-linguistic group of people residing in the upper Himalayan valleys of the Kumaon and Garhwal divisions of Uttarakhand state, India and in Darchula district, Nepal. These include the Shaukas of Kumaon and Tolchhas and Marchhas of Garhwal. Their name, Bhotiya, derives from the word Bod (བོད་), which is the Classical Tibetan name for Tibet. Bhotiya is the name used by the Constitution of India, throughout Nepal and by most people of the area. The name Bhutia is also sometimes used, though it more commonly refers to the Sikkimese people
  2.  Bhoksa, also known as Buksa, are indigenous peoples living mainly in the Indian states of Uttarakhand and Uttar Pradesh. They are mostly concentrated in Dehradun and Nainital districts in the Kumaon foothills of the outer Himalayas.They are also found in the Bijnor district of Uttar Pradesh, where they are known as Mehra. Both communities have been granted Scheduled Tribe status.
  3. Jannsari The Jaunsar-Bawar region, is a tribal valley, spread over 1002 km² and 400 villages,[between 77.45' and 78.7'20" East to 30.31' and 31.3'3" North.It is defined in the east, by the river Yamuna and by river Tons in the west, the northern part comprises Uttarkashi district, and some parts of Himachal Pradesh, the Dehradun tehsil forms its southern periphery.Modes of livelihood in this region are agriculture and animal husbandry, which in the upper region is mostly for self-sustenance, as merely 10 percent of cultivated area is irrigated. Milk, wool and meat are an integral part of the local econom
  4. Raji- are a native endangered ethnic minority group, originating and living in Uttarakhand, India. They are distributed in the districts of Pithoragarh, Champawat and Udham Singh Nagar and in a small area confined to Western Nepal. They are the smallest Himalayan tribal group. They were also a special and important parts of Rajputs family... They are basically nomadic hunter-gatherers, but also work as agriculture and forest labourers. They are mainly dependent on forests, and also practice shifting cultivation. Their existence is threatened by developmental and wild life related projects. They were placed in forced settlements by the Government of India beginning in the 1980s.Many continue to move in semi-nomadic camps, but most are now settled into villages along the Mahakali (Kali) River area straddling 
  5. Tharu Smaller numbers of Tharu people reside in the adjacent Indian districts Champaran of Bihar state; Gorakhpur, Basti and Gonda of Uttar Pradesh state; and Nainital, Uttarakhand state. In 2001, Tharu people were the largest of five scheduled tribes in Uttarakhand, with a population of 256,129 accounting for 33.4% of all scheduled tribes. In the same year, they constituted 77.4% of the total tribal population of Uttar Pradesh with a population of 83,544.

Uttar Pradesh

In accordance with The Constitution (Scheduled Tribes) (Uttar Pradesh) Order, 1967
  1. Bhotia ()
  2. Buksa
  3. Jaunsari    as above
  4. Raji
  5. Tharu

No comments:

Post a Comment